Georgetown Tobacco and John Crouch Tobacconists

In DC I was trying to find cigar shops and lounges that I could review. After hitting Cigar Connection, I thought I would have some good luck with some other places. I mapped out a place that was about 6 miles from my hotel, and took off to find it. First stop: John Crouch Tobacconists in Alexandria.

Located in Old Alexandria, John Crouch’s place sits in the middle of a very foot-heavy traffic area, surrounded by wonderful brick style houses. I was excited to see all the people and shops that it offered in the area, but it took forever to find a place to park and finally get to the shop. When I walked in, all I could really see was a whole lot of kilts and Irish gear, then noticed the humidor in the back. There were no seats for smoking, although one person had a fold out chair sitting across from the cashier.

Inside the humidor, I noticed a lot of the mainstay cigars – Cohiba, Ashton, Padron, La Gloria Cubana, Montecristo, etc. There was nothing boutique, however. I did see some AJ Fernandez stuff – San Lotano Oval to be exact. Problem for me here: THEY WERE IN A CUSANO BOX AND DISPLAY! Another drawback – instead of pricing the cigars individually on the wrapper, there was a small sign that read, “Write Price of Cigar down for cashier.” In front of the sign were a few golf pencils and torn pieced of cardboard. Uh, REALLY? Additionally, half the boxes were empty and there was a scattered display of emptied boxes on the floor.

Overall opinion: Didn’t even buy a stick, won’t go back. 5% chance of a revisit. Why they call themselves “tobacconists” is beyond me.

Georgetown Tobacco on the other hand was a little bit nicer. There was a REALLY small smoking section as you can see. The sticks were in a small humi by the front door, and additional displays behind the counter. A lot of Davidoff, Ashton, Rocky Patel, Padron, and other high-end high-priced sticks to be had. One personal triumph for me here was the fact that they had Room 101 O.S.O.K’s, and I have been looking in every shop from Denver to LA to DC to find one.

The HUGE drawback was access. Located on the infamous Georgetown “M” street, the traffic was obnoxious and sickening, not to mention the $20 parking with slots barely large enough for a Harley. The foot traffic was insane, no wonder where all the looky-loo’s go after they saw all the monuments. Holy Crap! I couldn’t get out of there quick enough.

Overall opinion: some good smokes, crappy seating, terrible parking, expensive undertaking. Yeah, not doing this one again.

3 Responses to “Georgetown Tobacco and John Crouch Tobacconists”

  1. Matthias Says:

    Great review, thanks for the heads up.

    Also, have you considered writing a post outlining what someone thinking about opening a cigar lounge should consider as far as space, ventilation, selection, etc, as well as some of the common mistakes you’ve seen? Could be a really popular post, and I’d gladly repost it on finetobacconyc.com and credit you with your permission

    • Funny you should mention that. I went to the Montecristo Lounge and was asked the same thing – but this from someone who is 6 months away from opening their own. I will actually do that, thanks for the suggestion!

  2. I seriously loνe ylur blog.. Excellent colors & theme.

    Did ʏou bսild this weƄ site yourself?
    Ƥleaѕe reply back as I’m plаnniong to crteatе
    my own personal blog and would love to learn where you got this fгom or exactly whatt the thеme
    is named. Cheers!

Leave a comment